What could possibly go wrong…?

Catastophizing help for those who like to make dystopian movies about their own future

Mia Walker
3 min readJul 19, 2024
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

As I finished up a breathwork session with a lovely human the other day, I asked them how they were feeling.

“Sooooooo peaceful!” they said. “My ADHD brain is always chasing this and that thought, always worrying, always flapping. But right now, it’s just…still.”

They paused for a moment, and I saw a line crease their otherwise tranquil face.

“What’s going on for you right now?” I asked.

“Welllllll…now I’m starting to worry about the fact that I’m not worrying!”

They laughed at themselves.

“I’m worrying about the worrying coming back!”

Nothing to worry about? Worry about not worrying!

Ah, our anxious, active, imaginative, little nut-jobs of minds….how they like to keep us on our toes!

Research tells us that the average person spends about 50% of their time watching replays of the past or fretting about the future.

That’s 50% of the time where you’re not in the moment.

--

--

Mia Walker

I help people working in high stress careers to survive & thrive when the shit hits the fan. I also draw, terribly (you're welcome). www.changefoundry.org.uk